

Minutes Community Safety and Crime Prevention Advisory Committee

MEETING HELD ON TUESDAY, 2 JUNE 2009

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Item No	Title	Page No	
	Declaration of Opening		3
	Election of Presiding Member		3
	Election of Deputy Presiding Member		4
	Apologies/Leave of absence		4
	Announcements by the Presiding Person without discu	ssion	4
	Declarations of Interest		4
	Identification of matters for which the meeting may sit closed doors	behind	4
	Petitions and deputations		4
	Reports		5
Item 1	Next meeting of the Community Safety and Crime Pre Advisory Committee	vention	5
	Motions for which previous notice has been given		6
	Requests for Reports for Future Consideration		6
	Closure		7

CITY OF JOONDALUP

MINUTES OF THE COMMUNITY SAFETY AND CRIME PREVENTION ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING HELD IN CONFERENCE ROOM 2, JOONDALUP CIVIC CENTRE, BOAS AVENUE, JOONDALUP ON TUESDAY, 2 JUNE 2009.

ATTENDANCE

Committee Members:

Cr Russ Fishwick Presiding Person

Cr Geoff Amphlett Deputy Presiding Person

Mayor Troy Pickard

Ms Christine Hamilton Prime
Mr Clive Elliot
Ms Denise Farquhar
Ms Diana Squires
Mr Ian Counsell
Mr Wesley Buzza

Community Representative
Community Representative
Community Representative
Community Representative
Community Representative
Community Representative

Officers:

Mr Jamie Parry Director, Governance & Strategy Mr Mike Tidy Director, Corporate Services

Mr Malcolm Jenkinson Manager, Rangers, Parking and Community Safety

Mrs Rose Garlick Administrative Secretary

DECLARATION OF OPENING

The Director Governance and Strategy declared the meeting open at 1811 hrs.

APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Apologies: Mr Mervyn Rea and Cr Tom McLean

ELECTION OF PRESIDING PERSON

The Director Governance and Strategy called for nominations for the position of Presiding Person.

Cr Amphlett nominated Cr Fishwick. Cr Fishwick accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations, Cr Fishwick was elected unopposed to the position of Presiding Person.

Cr Fishwick assumed the Chair at this point.

ELECTION OF DEPUTY PRESIDING PERSON

The Presiding Person called for nominations for the position of Deputy Presiding Person.

Cr Fishwick nominated Cr Amphlett. Cr Amphlett accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations, Cr Amphlett was elected unopposed to the position of Deputy Presiding Person.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE PRESIDING PERSON WITHOUT DISCUSSION

Nil.

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Nil.

IDENTIFICATION OF MATTERS FOR WHICH THE MEETING MAY SIT BEHIND CLOSED DOORS

Nil.

PETITIONS AND DEPUTATIONS

Nil.

REPORTS

ITEM 1 NEXT MEETING OF THE COMMUNITY SAFETY
AND CRIME PREVENTION ADVISORY

COMMITTEE - [78623]

WARD: All

RESPONSIBLE Mr Jamie Parry

DIRECTOR: Director, Governance and Strategy

At its meeting held on 25 November 2008 Council resolved to:

"ESTABLISH the Community Safety and Crime Prevention Advisory Committee to:

- provide advice to the Council on community safety and crime prevention issues;
- assist the Council in developing a strategic approach to ensure the safety and well being of the wider community of the City of Joondalup.

Membership:

The Committee will consist of the following members, to be determined by the Council:

- Four (4) Elected Members;
- Eight (8) Community Representatives comprising individuals from ratepayer and residents associations or individuals residing within the City who have expertise or demonstrated interest in community safety and crime prevention.

Meeting Frequency

The Community Safety and Crime Prevention Advisory Committee shall not convene more than two (2) ordinary meetings each between the months of February and November of each calendar year. Special meetings of the advisory committee may be held in accordance with the Standing Orders Local Law."

The Items of Business to be listed for the next meeting of the committee are:

- Outline of Terms of Reference for the Community Safety and Crime Prevention Advisory Committee;
- Presentation of service provision and/or current programs the City undertakes relating to the purpose of the Community Safety and Crime Prevention Advisory Committee.

It is recommended that the Community Safety and Crime Prevention Advisory Committee gives consideration to setting the date for its next meeting. The suggested date is Thursday 23 July 2009 at 6.00 pm.

MOVED Ms Squires SECONDED Cr Amphlett that the next meeting of the Community Safety and Crime Prevention Advisory Committee be held on Thursday 23 July 2009 at 6.00pm.

The Motion was Put and

CARRIED (9/0)

In favour of the motion: Crs Fishwick, Amphlett, Mayor Pickard, Ms Christine Hamilton Prime, Mr Clive Elliot, Ms Denise Farquhar, Ms Diana Squires, Mr Ian Counsell, and Mr Wesley Buzza.

MOTIONS OF WHICH PREVIOUS NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN

Nil.

REQUESTS FOR REPORTS FOR FUTURE CONSIDERATION

The Presiding Person invited all members to address issues of interest to be considered by the Committee.

The following Items were raised:

- Information/research related to crime/safety to gain a better understanding of issues and 'hot spots', including crime statistics by suburb, and City Watch statistics (to be categorised where possible – of particular interest were graffiti, anti-social behaviour and 'hooning').
- Statutory enforcement/penalties and ability to lobby for legislative change, including the City's powers (current and feasible).
- Early intervention programs including education, multi-agency approaches, and restorative justice.
- Engaging with residents to create a safer community and a sense of community.
- Engagement of youth and the City's programs targeting youth.
- City's security programs, including patrols, City Watch and CCTV, and graffiti removal.

It was agreed by the Committee that the City provides:

- an information pack of relevant management plans, policies, programs and other relevant documents relating to the purpose of the Committee;
- a presentation on service provision and/or current programs the City undertakes relating to the purpose of the Committee.

CLOSURE

There being no further business, the Presiding Person declared the Meeting closed at 1845 hrs; the following committee members being present at that time:

Cr Russ Fishwick
Cr Geoff Amphlett
Mayor Troy Pickard
Ms Christine Hamilton Prime
Mr Clive Elliot
Ms Denise Farquhar
Ms Diana Squires
Mr Ian Counsell
Mr Wesley Buzza